Contact us if you want to place your advert here

Do you want advise about buying a car? Technical advise? For everything related to motoring and much more go to







Protea Driving School. One of the biggest

driving schools with several branches

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Please follow the K53 Overview button to go to different sections


What is K53?

Driving Legally

The Road Traffic Act, 1989, which introduced road traffic legislation on a national basis for the first time, also provided for a standardized driver's licence test, namely the “K53 Driving Licence Test”.
K53 is a defensive driving system aiming at keeping a clear space around your vehicle at all times.  


Why the name “K53”?

K53 was a project reference number initially given by the CSIR to the development of a unit standard measuring driving skills. The unit standard is based on the UK system known as the Highway Code, which is why we often refer to the Driving Standard Agency on this web site.

The number given to the test was based on proposals submitted in the 1980's and then the reworked versions were upgraded numerically.

Test number K53 was finally accepted as the way to test aspirant drivers.

What is the purpose of the K53 driving test?

The purpose of K53 is to measure the capability of the learner-driver regarding handling of a vehicle, obedience to traffic rules and the ability to cope with practical traffic and driving problems.
The test is done on pre-established routes and is marked on a standard test report.

The K53 was implemented by the Department of Transport (Gov Gaz 19571 of 8 December 1998) as part of the Road Traffic Act Regulation An amended version, compiled in August 2005 was published with immediate effect in Gov Gaz 28446 of 7 April 2006. An important addition was the introduction of a minimum vehicle length of 3 metres for a light motor vehicle test (category B) and 6 metres for a heavy vehicle test (categories C1, C). The level of proficiency required to pass the heavy vehicle yard test was significantly increased.


The driving test is divided in three categories:

  1. Pre-trip inspection,
  2. Yard test: incline start, alley docking, three point turn, parallel parking (code 8) straight reverse (code 10)
  3. Road test

traffic lightPlease stop when the light turn orange and there will be less accidents